Unbroken

I want to run free. Run free through the grassy moors and never look back. But I can’t. No matter how far I run I can never run far enough. I can’t escape. The demons I fear so much just continue to follow. They will never leave me. That’s why I stay. Stay in this corrupt, evil institute of hate. Silence. It doesn’t matter if I run.

                                                                                        North.

West.                                                                                                                East.

                                                                                           South.

Up.

                                                                                                                          Down.

Left.                                                                                                                   Right.

Backwards.                                                                                                        Forwards.

No they won’t leave me, they refuse to leave.
Yes. Yes. Don’t mock my intelligence. I know what I’m doing.
I’ve come to accept the terms of this new agreement.
Yours Sincerely.
Signature.
Done.
I’m sold. Selling my soul to the devil to try and get my old self back. Can I do that? Maybe. We’ll never truly know. I’ll never truly know.
But I refuse to let this break me.
Let YOU break me.
Never.
I refuse to be broken.
I will rise from the ground and always remain unbroken. I’m gonna fall like I don’t need saving. I’m letting go tonight. I’m falling because you’ve got nothing on me. But I’ll always remember one thing. One thing that will never leave my mind.
Imagination is more important than knowledge.
Love is more important than the Pressure to be Perfect.
Who was it who said that? I’m not sure. Whoever they were they’ll be remembered. As for me. And as for me.
I will be.
Unbroken.

Helen Naylor

Leave a Reply

