Social Networking

You did not hear me so I spoke of
temporary topics but you tastelessly ignore
me the satin cushion that holds a diamond.
You arise your head from prayer with shock
with the suspicion of a Rottweiler sighting a stranger
when your phone loses signal. The rupture
in the data stream leaves you desiring more –

Your eyes are desperate like an abattoir chicken’s.
The data’s wasted on me but is a treasure for you.

You see it as the pinnacle of an orgasm
when it’s just useless smut,
a glutton for worries and misogynists alike,
the residue of humans that’s as healthy
as the fat from a Friday kebab… or a stab in the gut.
You look at me like I’m a biased judge, a hypocrite of injustice
as I show the emotions you’re neglecting to showcase –

the relaxation of life I believed in is no more.
For your compassion towards social media,
the circle of which we could never fit into
meant more to you than my tones.

Adam Foley

One thought on “Social Networking

Leave a comment